Carrabba’s Italian Grill

    Carrabba’s Italian Grill  is a fabulous restaurant that I first experienced in Austin and now their location list shows 31 states! According to their history the first location was in Bryan, Texas and Chicken Bryan is still a menu favorite with customers.
    My sister Amanda and brother-in-law Eric moved to Bryan several years ago. Eric graduated from Texas A&M and he brings the concept of school loyalty to a whole new level. When I took them out to lunch at Carrabba’s in Austin he was delighted to discover that a really great restaurant had originated in Bryan.
    The downtown Austin Carrabba’s location (6406 N. I-H 35) is just a mile away from where I worked as a data analyst for several years. That was during the part of my life when chicken salad, hold the croutons, was my standard for eating out and Insalata Carrabba is an experience, way better than ordinary chicken salad!
    When my brother Chaz was in Austin for a conference I took him to dinner there after we had spent all afternoon at the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center. I was tired and only wanted soup and a small dinner salad. The Mama Mandola’s Sicilian Chicken Soup came to the table with the pasta as expected. Once the waiter realized that I was picking it out and putting it on my unused bread plate he quietly told me that the soup was cooked without the pasta and could be ordered without. That was when I discovered that there were real gluten-free options available!
    Carrabba’s website has a gluten-free menu that you can download -> GLUTEN FREE MENU and while there is no gluten-free pasta or bread* there are plenty of options to keep me going back. Whenever we travel I check out the web site to see if we will be passing near any of their other locations.
    They have a disclaimer as to the perfection of their gluten-free options and the extent of their expertise in that arena. However, they have consulted with the Gluten Intolerance Group (GIG) and I feel confident that it is safe enough for me to eat there and enjoy menu options such as the Chicken Marsala.

Mom (Gretchen)

Note: *I would really appreciate if they could introduce gluten-free bread. Not that I love bread so much but their olive-oil-herb dip is so insanely flavorful.

Leave a Reply

