Microplane Graters

   This grater is another one of my favorite manual kitchen tools. I’ve had it for several years and find that it handles most of my grating needs. For a while I thought I really needed to buy a zester, and truthfully, I would still like to have one. But when it came down to lemon zest or no lemon zest this grater filled in quite nicely.

   I first discovered Microplane  when Don and I lived in the country and I was going through a woodworking/furniture and bookcase building phase – it may have been just before or after the peach preserves episode. Anyway, my first Microplane was a fantastic wood rasp that cut with both forward and backward motion. Creative chefs discovered them and began to use them in the kitchen.  For a while Italian restaurants had their wait staff shaving cheese at the table with these flat graters until the more efficient rotary version came along.

My Favorite Kitchen Grater – Microplane Home Series Medium Ribbon Grater

Microplane Grater with Zucchini and Carrots

Microplane Grater with Zucchini and Carrots

   The zucchini and carrots just fell right through into the bowl. While the apple seemed softer and juicier the fiber structure held on in back of the grater so that the pulp needed to be scraped off with a spoon – no biggie.
  
   The ‘teeth’ on this grater are constructed in such a way that it would be difficult to injure yourself while using it. I did scrap the side of my hand once in a severely clumsy move that spilled the bowl and contents all over the kitchen counter. The scrap was such that it did not notice it until evening when it bled a bit in the shower and I had to think back to when it might have happened – very minor wound indeed.
   
   A customer product review says that after a couple of years it comes apart in the dishwasher. It is so easy to clean up that I never thought about putting it in the dishwasher. There is a Gourmet Series and a Professional Series if you need something for heavy duty use. This one stands up to use in my kitchen.

Mom

Leave a Reply

